Lungs

I spent the last week housesitting for the folks.  I’ve been under the weather, off and on, for a couple of months; massive amounts of stress, weather that makes it near-impossible to excercise and manages to fuck up my system at the same time.  The temp and pressure have been shifting violently.  Winter dragged on, and now shit’s blooming in a pollen explosion to make up for it.

I was fine most of the week, but I woke up Friday morning struggling to breathe.  Scary, but it’s happened before, and it went away once I got up and moving.  I chalked it up to the same old shit, and proceeded to go to an overly-windy baseball game while the folks got home.  Saturday morning?  Total shutdown.  Had a 4 a.m. coughing fit that woke up Dad.  Made it back to sleep for a half hour until I woke up again trying to breathe.  I wound up at the UTC at 10:00, unable to explain that I couldn’t breathe because I was trying to breathe.  The doctor on call literally reached throught the reception window with his stethoscope and sent me back immediately for oxygen and- I think- eucalyptus.

Turns out the oxygen in my blood?  Dangerously low.  The X-rays were clear though, and it wasn’t pneumonia, but it is bronchitis for the second time in three years with probable asthma.  They gave me an inhaler and I’m on 10 days of antibiotics and prednisone, which is working physically.  But my sleep schedule is totally fucked: prednisone makes me groggy but kills the ability to sleep more than a couple of hours at a time.  And I’m faced with either not taking my usual meds and getting mired in my own head, or taking everything and not being able to function on any sort of productive level.  *sighs*

Aside from that, I’m waiting to see if I get a spot in the Northside art fair.  The application was literally as follows: pay 40 bucks (refundable if you’re not accecpted), fill out your contact info, and mail 3 images.  No indication as to what size images, what kind of work is allowed or not, no pictures of previous fairs…  I’m hoping that means they’re flexible and open, rather than just unprofessional.

And I really, really want to see Winter Soldier.  And I’m nowhere near a theater it’s playing in.

About ducksarebitches

I'm a painter, a drummer, a student, and currently unemployed. I also appreciate cats and a bit of light debauchery, but not at the same time or for the same reasons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment