There’s a skylight in my shower!

No fucking joke! I’m all moved in to the new place, I’m all surgeried, all I gotta do is last until the 24th when I can quit my shitty job for the semester.

But that’s not important; what’s important is this. Blizzard is doing two things that have ruined Diablo III for me. First, they’ve implemented an auction house by which you can pay real dollars to buy in-game weapons.  Now, I understand that this is not game-breaking, and that most people are fine not doing so.  But part of the appeal of Diablo is that it’s not a subscription MMO, that it’s a basic game where as an individual I can choose to jump into a group or play alone, but either way I don’t have to pay a monthly fee to do so.  And no, and auction house isn’t the same thing by a long shot, but it’s courting a slippery slope.  Which brings me to the next point.

Diablo III will only function if you are online, so that legitimacy of your copy of the game is constantly being verified.  Ubisoft pulled this on their games a while back, and it’s something I’m very opposed to.  It’s a function I find acceptable in a true MMO, because the data exists on someone else’s server.  That’s fine.  But when I pay to own the entire content of a game, I expect to be able to play it how and when I choose.  In the middle of the fucking Amazon rainforest if I so desire.  It’s not so much the functionality of my internet that’s questionable, it’s the fucking principle of the thing.

I get that Blizzard is trying to fight piracy and gold farmers, but what they’re really saying is, “We can’t do anything about the farmers, so if we can’t beat em we’ll join em.  And rather than just make this a straight up one-time-fee MMO, we’ll still sell hard copies and DRM them to hell to stop the pirates.”  And frankly, since the original team is working on Torchlight 2 -which will have multiplayer capabilites- I think I’ll just save my cash and wait for that one.

*I realize there are other things in the world of more import than this, but I’ve said my peace on that.  And fuck em.*

About ducksarebitches

I'm a painter, a drummer, a student, and currently unemployed. I also appreciate cats and a bit of light debauchery, but not at the same time or for the same reasons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to There’s a skylight in my shower!

  1. Pingback: Comeoncomeoncomeon…….. ERROR 34? « Ducks V. Bush

Leave a Reply

