Slow times update.

That got away from me a bit.  I spent a week and half at the folks’ for Christmas and got to see Katie, which was nice.  Did a party thing but missed out on NYE plans because everyone came down with the flu.  I did get the 5th edition D&D books, and if I ever find a group to play with I think it’ll be my favorite iteration.  I’ll post on it sometime.

This month has been the usual Jan/Feb garbage: unpleasantly cold and gloomy, extra awesome for depression.  I got sick for nearly a week but fought off a sinus infection, although I’m still not 100%.

Job applying became a slog; half of what I run across require signing up with some shitty online application service- and everyone has their own- completely negating the whole point of a resume anyhow.  The worst was a restaurant looking for 7 or 8 different positions, but only let me apply for one.  Look, no one aspires to work at a fucking chain sports bar, so expecting anyone not to apply for any qualified job is stupid.  I can do prep work or line cooking or wash the fucking dishes, and any of those sound equally appealing.

So instead of just uploading a resume, they literally had me sign up to yet another fucking site to fill out an application in the slowest, most painful way possible.  It took half an hour.  THEN I was directed to ANOTHER site to do some sort of “kitchen assessment”, which I was informed would take “45 minutes to an hour”.  I’ve since gotten a dozen email reminders to finish it.  I’m close to calling the company.

You know what?  I understand there are always hoops to jump though, and I expect that even more when it’s a corporate chain.  But I have a bachelor’s degree, experience working in a restaurant, and a solid list of references.  If I’m going to do any of that bullshit it’s going to be after you’ve hired me and I’m sitting through a bunch of goddamn training videos, because I’ll be getting paid for my time.

I guess that was a bit ranty, but it’s been a slow month.

About ducksarebitches

I'm a painter, a drummer, a student, and currently unemployed. I also appreciate cats and a bit of light debauchery, but not at the same time or for the same reasons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

