My new social media rule.

At this point, I’m more interested in twitter than facebook, and since twitter is largely about meeting new people (rather than keeping ties with people I already know), it doesn’t really apply there.  But facebook…

Between the site itself (which is becoming irrelevant at the same speed that it becomes more intrusive and openly sketchy) and the amount of rhetoric that reaches me (thanks, family and aging peers who never left home), I’m hearing way more bullshit than I need to because it’s not being buried between asinine posts and game requests anymore.

So, from here on out: if you post political memes, parrot talking points, use the phrase “talking points”, use “God” more than once per sentence, or constantly post statements or argue in the comments instead of asking questions and discussing like a rational human being, I will no longer take you seriously in any context.

It’s not about having particular convictions or beliefs, or me disagreeing with your politics or anything else.  It’s about you readily subscribing to some ideology as your identity.  It’s narcisisstic and insecure, and it indicates that you’ve willingly given up your ability as a human being to think and consider for yourself, to empathize, or to compromise with other people.

Let me be clear.  It’s not about your politics or religion.

 

It’s about you being a lazy, willingly ignorant asshole.

About ducksarebitches

I'm a painter, a drummer, a student, and currently unemployed. I also appreciate cats and a bit of light debauchery, but not at the same time or for the same reasons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

