#ArtQuestion

I’ve had a few people ask why I don’t post on DeviantArt (and other places).

Well, I have.

I made a profile there way back when it was in beta, and I posted a bunch of work there a couple of years ago.  Much like etsy, I got a decent response five minutes after uploading something.  Then literally after a few minutes, the thing became swallowed by the flood of fanart and tentacles.

Aside from feeling a little weird about being under an umbrella with a billion teenagers drawing shipping pics of anime characters, it just felt too “fine art” to be there.  I’m not a snob about it, my stuff is also too “illustration-y/genre/unpolished” to fit in with fine art as well.  It straddles a line.

And there are plenty of good artists on deviantArt, but most of them work in the digital/photography realm.  With Etsy, I figured out pretty quick that people weren’t going there to buy paintings, they were there to buy t-shirts and ceramics and crafty things.  D.Art was more of a fan/cosplay showroom.  And no, mom- I’m not a woman and I don’t give a shit about fancy cakes or whatever so I’m not going to be on Pinterest.

I know I could concieveably utilize a number of those sites, but that’s a massive timesink for the chance to randomly get a view or two.  It’s much more valuable (and enjoyable) for me to use twitter/FB/actual people in real life to see what I do.

About ducksarebitches

I'm a painter, a drummer, a student, and currently unemployed. I also appreciate cats and a bit of light debauchery, but not at the same time or for the same reasons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

