The worst position to be in.

I’m pretty sure I’ve been blown off by the theater.  The hiring manager was, of course, not in when I went by, and the hipster assistant manager told me to check back in a couple of weeks.  They lost two guys a week ago and my understanding was they needed replacements quickly.  Not weeks down the road.

But what the fuck ever.  It’s the whole last year all over again.  I’m too experienced to be exploitable, but I’m not experienced enough to do the work I’ve done before.  Two years is not “experienced cook”.  Keyholder position means I’m owed a higher wage (or I’ll expect a higher wage) even though I was 23 and terrible at managing others.

I have a BA, which means I should be above minimum wage- but it was in art studio, so I’m a lazy idealist with no work ethic.  I’m 33, yet every job I’ve had has paid less somehow.  And I’ve never had an actual salary.  My two most recent employers exist and can be reached.  I have good references.  I’ve had my resume double checked by friends and there’s no glaring horror stories on there, no obvious mis-interpretable items.  I’m not using paper with the “fuck  you” watermark.

If anyone bothered to check past employers or references, or give me a fucking interview, I’d have a good shot at getting a job.  I keep telling myself that I don’t want to work with people who can’t be bothered to do things like that; that if someone doesn’t see the value on that resume, they probably won’t treat me well.

But I still gotta eat.

About ducksarebitches

I'm a painter, a drummer, a student, and currently unemployed. I also appreciate cats and a bit of light debauchery, but not at the same time or for the same reasons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

