Bioshocked

That’s a misleading title, I guess.  I’ve had the first Bioshock for a few years, but I never got around to finishing it.  I caught all three of them on sale for fifteen bucks last week, and finally beat it.  Well, plowed through it, really.  From the beginning.

And the second one as well, which was equally fun but didn’t quite have the same sense of ambiguity in the story.  The first game is a brilliant illustration of the illusion of choice.  The second game had a similar tone and the theme of choice was definitely there, but it wasn’t the same experience.  Maybe the emphasis was different, or maybe it was just because it was the second rodeo, but I was less focused on choices (essentially I made the same decisions; I will generally err on the side of mercy) and more focused on finishing the story.

Artistically speaking, I loved the whole atmosphere of the first two; the art deco motifs, the design of the interiors, even the furniture style was right up my alley.  Infinite was a step up from that (even with the lowest graphics setting) in terms of the feel of the pre-WWI era it pulled from.  Story-wise, I wish they’d explored more of the racism and religion themes in the first half, rather than have them set up the rebellion/evil mastermind second half.  Even so, I dug it right up until the end.  No sense in spoiling it, but I was pretty unsatisfied.  And a little confused.

Maybe this is the feeling a lot of people had after the Lost finale.  I don’t know, but it’s certainly worth playing regardless.

About ducksarebitches

I'm a painter, a drummer, a student, and currently unemployed. I also appreciate cats and a bit of light debauchery, but not at the same time or for the same reasons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

