To plus or not to plus.

So Google has been pushing Google+, their social networking-failure, on people for a few years now.  I get that they’d like to stick their tendrils into everything, and so far they’ve done a decent enough job.  I have a gmail account.  I used iGoogle as my homepage for years, as well as their RSS service (both of which were fantastic and recently aborted, like you do when something works properly).  It’s my default search engine.  But I will not bother with Google+.  I hate Facebook, but I use it because it’s the easiest way to keep in touch with people- because 90% of the people I want to keep in touch with are also using it (which is why most of them are on there).  And since fucking no one uses Google+, there’s zero reason for most people to have another social network identity.  It’s not offering anything that can’t be found elsewhere.

Yet Google is being very insistent that suddenly my email needs to be synced with this “network”.  And my youtube account also needs to be joined into all this.  As a user, I absolutely refuse.  Linking so many things to one user handle (and password), especially email, is a really good way to get yourself hacked and have your personal information compromised.  F0r the moment though, the youtube thing is getting under my skin the most.  I watch a lot of channels, and the whole thing is becoming a huge headache for anyone with a youtube show.  For example:

 

And I don’t regularly watch this guy, but he makes it very clear what obvious issues an entire company seemed to have overlooked:

It’s unnecessary.  I see what they’re trying to do, and the only reason it’s happening is the misguided idea that Google can basically “imprint its brand” on the way you use the internet.  That’s a goddamn stupid idea.  It worked for AOL and Earthlink in the ’90s because there weren’t other options for the average person.  Now it’s just an invitation for people and companies who aren’t Google to step up and make a better free email service or a better video-hosting site, or a better whatever the fuck else they’re trying to capitalize on.

 

 

About ducksarebitches

I'm a painter, a drummer, a student, and currently unemployed. I also appreciate cats and a bit of light debauchery, but not at the same time or for the same reasons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

