Keep the Glove

The trouble with our justice system is that we place responsibility in the hands of people either too stupid to get out of jury duty, or too high minded and self-righteous to be objective.

Now that the George Zimmerman circus is winding down, we’re in the typical post-trial public outrage period.  I’m amused by the number of people deciding that it’s okay to act even more overtly racist- it’s an acidic combination of learned distrust and escalating reaction.  All I have to say is that the boy is still dead, people not of “standard white” flavors will still be targets, and I doubt that Zimmerman will ever sleep well again.

 

*****************

 

It’s been a rough week so far.  I’m not in a good state of mind.  I don’t feel capable of doing things that need doing.  I’m not sure how I’m going to work this Cincinnati thing; I feel certain that I’ll wind up broke and on the streets.  I can’t even manage to ask for help.

I can still hope it’s just a mental thing for a few days, but hope isn’t cheap and I have no money.

 

About ducksarebitches

I'm a painter, a drummer, a student, and currently unemployed. I also appreciate cats and a bit of light debauchery, but not at the same time or for the same reasons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

