Sales!

As frustrating as it’s been not finding employment, it’s equally frustrating (though not as unexpected) to run into nothing on the art front either.  The etsy store was up for three months, and there were a few spikes of activity, but only about 2 views per day on average and no actual sales through the site.  I got a commission request a few months back that was held up on the other party’s end, and I’m starting to doubt that’s going anywhere.

I finally heard back on Friday from Manifest, and the works I’d submitted for two shows were rejected.  That’s normal, and I’m not devastating or anything, just a little disappointed and out 36 bucks (which at the moment is particularly a big deal).  The good news is that all five submissions to the local community action council’s art auction were accepted.  Not only that, but 3 of them sold at the reception.  Not just sold, but- importantly to me- sold to people who don’t know me at all.  Having friends and family who value what you do and will pay you for it is a blessing, but it’s not a good measure of your worth outside of that circle.  Having a total stranger pay for something you made is validating on a bigger scale.

I haven’t been paid yet; I have no idea what the final bids were, and I’ll only get half of it- probably enough to get more frames and pay a couple more submission fees.  But it was worth it to have it shown and bought.  Plus the two pieces that didn’t sell were personal favorites, and also hung near the back exit (I’m not sure any of the work in that section was bid on).  So there’s that, and I’m sending a few pieces down to a gallery in McComb this summer.  It’ll be neat to have work somewhere in my birthplace.

About ducksarebitches

I'm a painter, a drummer, a student, and currently unemployed. I also appreciate cats and a bit of light debauchery, but not at the same time or for the same reasons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

