A Goodbye and An Update

I’m going to Lynaugh’s in an hour to remember my friend Noah. He died last week; he’s had health and alcohol problems for a long time. I saw him make some bad decisions. Choices that drove away his friends, that hurt his career, mistakes that a lot (if not most) people make- but he never made up for them and he never got past them. He was hardheaded and stubborn, and he suffered for not being able to reconcile his sense of self with reality. I watched it happen slowly over the years. I’d go to the bar and see him and we’d talk a while, but he was never really there in the moment; he was living in a past he couldn’t let go of.

******************

As for me, I’ve got five pieces that will show at an art auction in a couple of weeks.  It’s a juried show, so I’m exited…. I try never to get my hopes up, I just submit like I’m being paid to do so.  I’ve submitted the installation beast and two pieces for the MAGNITUDE small works show, so hopefully I’ll get in one of those shows.  Aside from that it’s all painting and watching shows.

About ducksarebitches

I'm a painter, a drummer, a student, and currently unemployed. I also appreciate cats and a bit of light debauchery, but not at the same time or for the same reasons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

