Dear social site friends:

Just because some guy stabbed a shitload of people, I’d like it if you didn’t use it to justify posting 20 extra gun rants today.  Yes, he could’ve been stopped more quickly if “somebody was carrying”.  But I’m sure he also could’ve been stopped just as quickly with a chair or some books, which should be plentiful on a campus.  That gun bill is not the end of the world, even if it passes.  Remember the uproar over the assault weapons ban twenty years ago?  You still have guns, right?  Plus my favorite dough-faced senator Mitch McConnell is all over it with what I’m sure will be a thrilling fillabuster.

I’m also a little disturbed by something else.  The number of people I know to be reasonably intelligent, thoughtful people who become aggressive and reactionary on the internet seems to be increasing.

I know it seems a little passive to post these here and circumvent facebook, but 20 year old wisdom still stands: do not feed the trolls.  Especially if they’re your friends.

 

 

About ducksarebitches

I'm a painter, a drummer, a student, and currently unemployed. I also appreciate cats and a bit of light debauchery, but not at the same time or for the same reasons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

