12 Hour Sleeps

I’m pretty much finished at this juncture. I got my work in the BA show just fine, although I came damn close to taking my ball and going home. I took everything to the gallery and started filling out the paperwork, and the seminar professor (who is also in charge of the gallery) was looking at my installation sketches; in the midst of explaining things he interrupted to say, “You can’t paint the gallery,” which stopped me cold.

Excuse the fuck what?

I had specifically asked one juror about what was alterations I could make and was told I could do ANYTHING in the gallery, and I had spoken with the other jurors specifically to make sure there weren’t any glaring problems with my plan. So I had 80 dollars worth of paint and rollers sitting in the room, on top of the nearly 200 bucks worth of magnets I didn’t have a use for, and about 60 dollars left to my name.
Pissed? Livid didn’t even describe it.

Long story short, I wound up taking the work back in, because it’s a degree. And it’s one more thing to scream about when the alumni association calls looking for donations.

Anyhow, the work’s in and having to scramble to come up with a new plan pushed it in an interesting direction. The website is done, and it turns out I can float the menu where I thought there was no page (although as soon as I can afford it, I’m paying someone to rework the code so it doesn’t break in non-desktops). That lousy social psych class is finished- optional final, and I’ve got a B, so fuck that. Our last painting class was yesterday and critique went well (I got the full juror story, and those people went to bat for me. That’s pretty awesome).

That leaves me with the web design crit tomorrow, turning in my seminar docs tonight, and two more classes and a final for neuropsych. And that’s it. A little sleeping, job hunting, and looking for shows.

About ducksarebitches

I'm a painter, a drummer, a student, and currently unemployed. I also appreciate cats and a bit of light debauchery, but not at the same time or for the same reasons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

