A glimmer of..

Hope Pragmatism.

No kidding, I’m relieved that Obama won, and moreso that Romney didn’t.  Obama is not my favorite, but no candidate has ever been satisfactory in my eyes.  I have high standards.  Regardless, this is pretty much the same situation no matter what side you’re looking from, since we have a Democratic hold on the presidency and the Senate, and an even greater majority of Republicans in the House, many of whom ran on or have sworn to gridlock anything tinted blue in the slightest.  Welcome to at least two more years of childishly spiteful nonlegislation.

Buzz is as follows:  Some people are losing their shit because Obama won, and three states chose to legalize recreational pot and a handful decided gay marriage wasn’t going to hurt.  I’m hearing a lot of noise from extremists on both sides as to the two-party system and lack of real choice being the thing that will bring us to ruin, and that voting for the lesser of two evils is not worth getting out of bed for.  Well, cry all you want.  This is a shitty system, but that’s what we have.  And there’s an upside to having a narrow range of options:

We know what to expect.  I see some attempts at minor and ultimately pointless reforms here and there.  I see more gradual police-state creep (NDAA anyone?).  I see one or two less conservative judges on the Supreme Court, probably replaced by centrists.  We’ll wind down on the major military activity barring any open threats, but we’ll still be uncomfortably involved on some little fronts.  I don’t see much in the way of environmental policy change, and I think we’ll start to settle down over healthcare.  Otherwise, I’m not expecting any huge sweeping changes.  And that’s valuable; I can plan accordingly.  I’m not gonna fucking worry over anyone else’s hangups.

About ducksarebitches

I'm a painter, a drummer, a student, and currently unemployed. I also appreciate cats and a bit of light debauchery, but not at the same time or for the same reasons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

