Conglomerates

It was interesting yesterday when all the topical facebook posts went from hurricane related news to Disney buying Lucasfilm.  I thought I’d weigh my indifference here.

I’ve posted about Star Wars before, and rather than tread old ground I’ll just reiterate my feelings.  After the prequels, Star Wars was not the same beast anymore.  I wish I could seperate things so that all SW-related stuff pre-1998 existed and I could write off everything after that, but the constant flow of extended universe stuff just keeps shoving its bloated ass right in my face every time I see something Star Wars related.

So taking a thing I once loved but not anymore, and coupling that with a thing I mostly dislike?  Nothing but “I don’t give a fuck” comes out of that mix.  Disney has some fine films, which I’ll dig into in another post, but Disney as a whole is so broad that the bigger percentage of their output is garbage.  And that’s just the films, I’m not even reaching for the merchandising aspect, or the impact of the “princess” effect, or the insidious treatment of the early (and likely recent as well) animators, or the entire Disney channel.

It’s about enough to equal what’s left of my love of Star Wars, and the net result is not much at all.

About ducksarebitches

I'm a painter, a drummer, a student, and currently unemployed. I also appreciate cats and a bit of light debauchery, but not at the same time or for the same reasons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

