Mid-May post.

Looks like I pulled at least a B in everything except painting this semester.  Painting was a C.  Kinda shitty to make a C in the medium of your focus, but that the instructor and I (as well as the other 5 students, actually) are drinking vastly different flavors of art philosophy kool-aid didn’t help.  And some of it was definitely my fault for not contributing much the first couple of critiques- although that stemmed largely from the above problems.  It’s difficult to objectively critique someone’s work when you’ve just been told, essentially, that you don’t know what you’re doing.

On the plus side, I’ve only got one semester left.  I’m taking painting again, but it’ll be with a familiar professor.  And my grade in there won’t keep me from finishing if I somehow fuck it up.

As far as (well, since this post sat around for a week) other stuff goes:

MCA died, and the sentimental value of this video doubled:

***

The officers who beat a homeless, mentally ill man to death got charged.  I couldn’t make it through the video, so be warned- it’s disturbing.  Now, I’m generally suspicious of police.  There are plenty of people who use a uniform to justify really shitty actions.  And I understand that there are decent people who wear badges.  But putting on a uniform (of any flavor) allows you to displace your conscience- especially when you’re given weapons and the authority to wield them; so when you’re approached by men with badges and guns, you never know who you’re going to get.  But before I start quoting Ice Cube, it’s important to note that the father of the victim is a retired officer- and his persistence is the reason that those men have been charged.

What I’m saying is that it’s better- in this particular instance- not to think of these people as cops, but to think of these cops as people.  Really fucking shitty people.  People who should be punished, as severely as possible, for assault and murder.

***

Also, fuck Romney.  And Obama’s stance on gay marriage was a nice sentiment.  But even if he really feels that way, politically he wasn’t left with any other choice.

About ducksarebitches

I'm a painter, a drummer, a student, and currently unemployed. I also appreciate cats and a bit of light debauchery, but not at the same time or for the same reasons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

