It’s like I’m psychic.

Advising went as advising usually does.  By which I mean neither my faculty adviser nor myself (nor the automated degree checking system) are privy to the inner mysteries of “requirements” as they apply to a 6th year senior with transfer credits.  

  There was an ominous green post-it in my file that said “needs to see Jane Johnson about graduate writing requirement ASAP”.  Jane, who I’ve never spoken with before, had no clue about it and told me to sign up for a degree audit- first available next Friday.  So I’ve got a week to sweat over whatever it could be.  I apologize in advance for my lousy company.

When I transferred from LCC, either my first or second writing class way back from 2002 didn’t count for the university’s requirement.  So I took another english course that satisfied it, and that’s the last I heard about it.  Since then, the curriculum’s shifted and the newest required writing classes fall under a different letter heading.  Hopefully this is the error, because if I’m told to take another writing class I’m going to sue the fuck out of UK.  And then I’m going to run down the halls of the administration building, punching everyone I can find. 

I accepted this bullshit from the community college, mostly because it was more stress than I could deal with at the time.  But now I’m a breath away from accomplishing what’ll be one of the few legitimate, worthwhile things I’ve done in my thirty two years.  And I have a decade’s worth of frustration, a bleak-looking future as far as employment, and very little to lose. 

About ducksarebitches

I'm a painter, a drummer, a student, and currently unemployed. I also appreciate cats and a bit of light debauchery, but not at the same time or for the same reasons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

