Hammer to Fall

I decided not to go for a BFA after all.

Partly because the instructor I got this semester has soured me on the ‘fine arts’ in general, and at the moment on painting altogether. And partly because I thought it through for a while, and decided it’s not worth trying to work the system.

I’ve never really bought into the system of fine arts. I don’t much care about the academic side of it. I think most of it is pretentious bullshit that undermines what good work is out there, elevates a whole lot of garbage, and completely discards a lot of genres, styles, and subjects based on market demand. I don’t have a problem with art being commercial, because ultimately for a professional artist it is. What I have a problem with is the forced structure in which the fine art world plays.

So far, I’ve gone against my intuition and played by the rules. Done what I’ve been told to do, if you will. And it’s eating me up. So I’m gonna take my BA and be done with it. That’s not to say it hasn’t been worthwhile, that I haven’t learned anything. What I have learned is valuable, and my work has improved far more than I expected. But I don’t think an extra letter in my degree will mean anything beyond my personal goals, and at the moment it’s a headache I can do without.

About ducksarebitches

I'm a painter, a drummer, a student, and currently unemployed. I also appreciate cats and a bit of light debauchery, but not at the same time or for the same reasons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

