Can’t tell me how to drive.

Interesting, all the backlash toward the study suggesting a national ban on cellphones while driving.  I read enough studies when I was a psych major to grasp just how distracted one can get even talking on a hands-free set.  I once lost a phone base because the part of my brain that was conscious was having a conversation while my hands were dropping things behind a shelf.

I mean hey, we’ve all done it.  I’ve done far worse, which is why I don’t drive anymore.  In fact, walking every day gives me a unique perspective- the perspective of a person who sees unbelievably stupid driving every single day, a person for whom walking four blocks is incredibly risky.

I regularly have to punch vehicles on the hood to get them to stop when I’m walking in front of them.  Literally in front of their car.  Because people don’t even fucking look when they pull out of a driveway or a street with no light.  So yes, I’m concerned when people start screaming “nanny state” over a reasonable suggestion.  In fact, if I could have my way I wouldn’t even ban cellphone use in cars.  I’d just fucking ban cars.

About ducksarebitches

I'm a painter, a drummer, a student, and currently unemployed. I also appreciate cats and a bit of light debauchery, but not at the same time or for the same reasons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment