Fin.

As of Thursday, I am finished for the semester. 4 ‘A’s and hopefully a ‘B’ that hasn’t been posted yet. I have a few weeks to work up some paintings for the BFA review this spring. I’ve got a few ideas, but I think I’m gonna stick to a series on depression. Part of me hates to do it, and I’ve been avoiding the subject in most of my work for years, mostly because it just feels cliched. But looking around at recent art, especially locally, I haven’t really seen any at all, or at least not any beyond what’s in statements. I think I can finally use all the bits of unfinished lyrics I’ve been saving for years as well. It’ll be nice to get rid of some of the clutter in my filebox at least.

Got a link to this in a campus email:

There was an article about the consulting firm in the university paper a few months ago, and I felt obliged to point out how utterly fucking wasteful it is to spend 1.2 million dollars on outside consulting when you’re running an institute of higher learning.  Looks like I’m not the only one who felt that way.

The administration is too big.  The only people arguing that it’s not are, surprise, the adminstration.

Want to improve the academy?  Pay the faculty what they’re worth, and have some fucking standards.  When there are college-level papers written with chat abbreviations, your problem is less the curriculum and more your entrance policies.

The budget it stickier, but mostly because UK is less a university and more a sports-and-hospital business; there needs to be a balance there, and the budget should reflect that.

I just identified the big problems, where’s my million?  Either the administration has no clue what’s going on, or they’re pretending not to in order to maintain the status quo- I’m guessing a little of both.  I’m more than happy to be done with this wasteland soon.

About ducksarebitches

I'm a painter, a drummer, a student, and currently unemployed. I also appreciate cats and a bit of light debauchery, but not at the same time or for the same reasons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

