Strangers

Facebook, that sign of the apocalypse, occasionally likes to suggest that I should friend people I graduated high school with.  Oddly enough, if we’d been friends we’d probably still be friends, and I would have looked them up already.

I do like to browse their photos though.  A few years ago it was mostly to see who had kids, or who had 8 kids, or who hadn’t had kids but had somehow gained a lot of weight anyway.  I could sit back and be grateful I wasn’t one of those people who’d gone to UK and graduated, then gotten hitched with someone else from our class and settled down to work at the plant anyway.

Now it’s past laughing at false notalgia, now it’s more of a true morbid curiosity.  I look at the faces of these people, these families, and it’s unsettling how hard it is to recognize them as anyone I ever knew.  I wonder if it’s me, if I’ve just forgotten that much.  Or was the memory always false, and just rotting away now?

About ducksarebitches

I'm a painter, a drummer, a student, and currently unemployed. I also appreciate cats and a bit of light debauchery, but not at the same time or for the same reasons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

