Rah, generational idiocy.

Sometimes I think CNN makes shit up.  I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t fucking hire anyone bringing that much entitlement to work.

First of all, the quotes seem to be from 30-somethings.  I’ll be 31 on Friday, and I’m damn sure I popped in at the tail-end of Gen X; maybe the beginning of Gen Y, depending on who you ask.  I thought “Millenials” were in the 18-25 range- people who hadn’t really known a world without the internet.

Secondly, I’ve got a goddamn solid work ethic.  I work when I’m sick if I’m needed.  I don’t need a fucking ping-pong table in the break room, I don’t need face time with the boss, I don’t need daily reassurance.  I just need some actual work and a minimal amount of bullshit.  The only thing I expect, at this juncture, is a full 40-hour week with benefits if you want my A game; otherwise I’m gonna take the easiest thing I can find and work on my own.  I’ve had too many jobs that offered 38 or 39 hours- nice try, but painting time is worth far more than that 10 or 15 hours if you’re not giving me some health insurance.

I’m also highly suspicious of the idea that “this generation is on course to become the most educated in history” really means anything.  Considering the sheer volume of stupid I encounter on campus, I’m waiting for the day that someone realizes “educated” does not necessarily equal “intelligent” or “valuable” or “hardworking”.

What I know for sure is that that an awful lot of my (degree-holding, educated, hardworking) friends are mired in nothing jobs because the opportunities are few and far between.  And when we’re competing with older generations of umemployed or underemployed applicants, this kind of bullshit isn’t going to help our case.

 

About ducksarebitches

I'm a painter, a drummer, a student, and currently unemployed. I also appreciate cats and a bit of light debauchery, but not at the same time or for the same reasons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

