My only word on Weiner.

Yes, I did that just for the title.

Seriously though, if this is true, and I’m gonna guess it is, that should be one more in a long, long string of post-its telling us we’re not quite the democracy some of us think we are.

To spell it out, Weiner is resigning from pressure from his party, from other politicians, and I suspect the media spotlight.  Not his constituents, the people who fucking voted him into office in the first place.  The very people who, according to this article, want him to stay.

And that’s how our political club works, on the pull between corporate interests and the politicians they fund.  “The people” only matter insofar as how they can best consume (and don’t get me wrong, I like capitalism, but only so far as it works for us, not vice-versa).  It’s blatant, it’s obvious, and yet somehow most of the voting public either doesn’t see it or just doesn’t give a shit.  And that’s my biggest problem- not the politicians, because I expect that from them- but that we’re so culturally entrenched in our own shit that we don’t even want to see past the shiny swinging pocketwatch.

 

About ducksarebitches

I'm a painter, a drummer, a student, and currently unemployed. I also appreciate cats and a bit of light debauchery, but not at the same time or for the same reasons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

