Fuckin doctors ‘n shit.

I’d asked the receptionist at internal medicine (where I usually see the doctor) to direct me to a surgeon who does hernias, as I know nothing about surgeons and specialties and who does what.  Rather than give me a number, she went ahead and made me an appointment- without asking when I was available for one.  And then called me last Tuesday at 9 in the fucking morning to tell me I had an appointment at 1:30 in Georgetown, and was that okay?

Fuck no, it was most certainly not okay.  I would’ve had to call in to work and wrangle up some transportation.  So I called and rescheduled, and showed up yesterday for the consultation.

The receptionist was very sweet.

The doctor, on the other hand, was a complete asshole.  He asked how old I was right off the bat, and when I told him I was 30 he did a double-take.  Looked at the alien thing underneath my skin, and then ran me through a gauntlet of questions: what did I do, was I using drugs, how much did I drink, etc; and I was honest.  Whatever vices I used to have, few as they were, I couldn’t afford them now even if I wanted to.  I know those are things that one needs to disclose to the guy that’s performing operations and such, but from the look on his face he didn’t believe a word I told him.

But if he can get the damn thing out without complications, then fine.  I’ll be sans hernia, and I don’t have to deal with his bullshit after that.

About ducksarebitches

I'm a painter, a drummer, a student, and currently unemployed. I also appreciate cats and a bit of light debauchery, but not at the same time or for the same reasons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

