My summer vacation.

My friend from work looked at me very seriously a few weeks ago and said, “You need health insurance.  You need a full-time job.”

In addition to a physical (which I’m gonna hold off on until the fall, if student health still does those), a dental checkup and at least a referral to an oral surgeon, and a visit to the optometrist for some glasses, I can add hernia surgery to the list o’ fun.

I did go to fix the rash around my eyes.  Had that since the winter, and I suspect something from my ceramics class caused it.  Probably something in the clay.  I got some mild internal steroids which the pharmacist shorted me on, and a script for some ointment the doctor said my shitty insurance would probably balk at.  According to the pharmacist, they wanted me to use cortisone for 10 days first, which I’d been doing for months.  I told them not to fill it, I’d just use that.

A week later I got some automated “your prescription has been filled” calls, so finally I asked my dad to drop by and pick it up- but not if it was more than 20 bucks.  He picked it up anyway (thanks, dad), and brought it by.  Fucking cost 124 bucks.  124 fucking dollars!  And so far, all it’s done is make my skin as itchy as it was without anything at all.

And people wonder why I refuse to go to the doctor.

About ducksarebitches

I'm a painter, a drummer, a student, and currently unemployed. I also appreciate cats and a bit of light debauchery, but not at the same time or for the same reasons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

