I mean, outside of Dantooine..

Star Wars has been around just 3 years longer than me, so I was all but raised on it.  My early childhood, predating my G.I.Joe obsession.  The long period during the late ’80s and early 90’s when the figures weren’t sold and interest waned, but before the resurgence, the Thrawn novels, and the rereleased extra-CGI films when I was rabid for anything I could get, back-story wise.  The renewed interest, the prequels, the fucking Star Wars Legos, etc.  I still have mom’s old definitely-not-canon Marvel comics.

There’s not really any point in my life where Star Wars hasn’t edged its way in (whether I wanted it to or not).

And in all these 30 years, not once- not once– did I ever wonder what exactly the Empire was doing that it needed to be destroyed.  I mean, the whole senate-destruction thing, and I guess the “dark side” unbalancing thing, and maybe blowing up Dantooine.  But those are all political coup kinds of things, and they happen in the real world.  There is some violence and bloodshed, differing opinions, and sometimes a territory gets razed.

But really…..what were they doing, specifically?  Was the emperor taking everyone’s first-born daughter as a sex slave?  Were taxes impossibly high?  Did they tank the economy?  Vader’s lack of charisma?

Somebody call Lucas on this bullshit.

About ducksarebitches

I'm a painter, a drummer, a student, and currently unemployed. I also appreciate cats and a bit of light debauchery, but not at the same time or for the same reasons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

