Waiting Room

In addition to the dental work I’ve known I needed for the last four years, plus the, um, complete lack of regular checkups, and the physical you’re supposed to get at 30 (I was 14 the last time I got a thorough physical), and the nearly one-year-overdue psych checkup; there’s something definitely odd and internal that needs to be checked out.  Without going into detail, it could be one of a number of things ranging from “odd but normal” to “needs a major operation last week”.

The student insurance doesn’t cover much more than a z-pak and maybe some ice, so that’s out.  Any sort of test requires actual insurance, of which I have a basic “hit by a car and needs an arm sewn back” plan but not the “x-rays and blood work and prescription” kind.  Didn’t even cover the UTC copay from August.

So what happens when you’re very poor, and you get diagnosed with, say, cancer?  If you get chemo treatments and all that, and you still die, who pays?  Do they bleed your closest relative?  And if you can’t afford it, can the doctor ethically just let you walk away and die quietly in a box somewhere?  I mean, great.  If chemo works, you’re alive…and stuck with an astronomical bill.  I’d say your quality of life just hit bottom either way.

*****************

On a less morbid note, WHEN WILL SOMEONE MAKE A RELEVANT MP3 PLAYER THAT’S NOT AN IPOD?

Actually I’m fine with iPods, it’s fucking iTunes I can’t stand.  I refused to let it update past 9, but then my old computer melted down.  I had no choice but to download iTunes 10 or whatever it is now, and it blows goats.  Complete fucking nonsense (which is how I feel about most apple programs.  sorry, consumer culturists.): it claims to give me more control of the interface, with all sorts of bells and whistles.  But I don’t need or want all that crap.  Why does my interface insist that I have a list of albums, but force me to also show “albums by artist” if I need to sort it alphabetically by album?  Why can’t I choose to forever banish “home sharing” and that godawful “ping” shit to my recycle bin?  WHY?

 

About ducksarebitches

I'm a painter, a drummer, a student, and currently unemployed. I also appreciate cats and a bit of light debauchery, but not at the same time or for the same reasons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

