A small music post.

I was working on another post about wikileaks, but it’s:

a) already covered by 90% of everyone else with a blog

b) going to be the top news thing for at least another week

and c) depressing as fuck no matter who’s side you’re on

Thusly, it’s time for a late music review.

Cee Lo Green, The Lady Killer- I felt a little suckered, honestly. Cee Lo’s voice is admirable, but most of the album is still kind of meh.  I should’ve stuck with the Fuck You track I had.  I like that I can guess your age by whether you know him as half of Gnarls Barkley or formerly of Goodie Mob.

Old ’97s, The Grand Theater, vol.I- Rhett Miller’s wordplay fucking kills me.  I keep telling myself that he’s just turning clichéd phrases on their heads; but he does with such adeptness that you barely recognize them anymore.  Like the words themselves are reborn and usable again.  Grand Theater is a solid piece of work, on par with the last couple of albums- it starts out loud and brash and goes out quietly.  It’s nothing particularly new, and I’d kill for another Too Far to Care, but it’s still shiny.  And I’m exited there’ll be a vol. II in the near future.


About ducksarebitches

I'm a painter, a drummer, a student, and currently unemployed. I also appreciate cats and a bit of light debauchery, but not at the same time or for the same reasons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

