Power of Grayskull, anyone?

He-Man was a big deal when I was little.  I didn’t have many figures (the snake guy, the cyclone guy, and Orko were it), but learned to read clocks so I’d know when it was time for the cartoon.  I remember the movie coming out- the live one, with Dolph Lundgren.  And I remember how fucking disappointing it was.

There was no budget, so fancy sci-fi sets were out of the question.  Consequently the plot had the characters magically transported to New York, for what turned out to be an utterly forgettable movie even for the most hardcore kindergartner.  Everyone remembers that the movie existed, or that it was a godawful mess, but most of us moved on to greener G.I. Joes.  Or Transformers, if that was your thing.

I’d say we’re about overdue for a shitty 80s cartoon comeback.  OH!  LOOK AT THAT!  It’s a live-action Smurfs movie! And the plot?  Oh, they go to New York.  Hijinks will ensue, I’m sure.  Will it be as bad?  Look at that damned list of actors.  Jonathan fucking Winters as papa smurf?  Next best thing to Hemingway, I guess.

I’m pretty unopinionated.  I didn’t watch it much as a child (come on, ONE girl?  really?  even my 5 year old mind knew something was up).  I just thought the similarity was notable, and now noted.

About ducksarebitches

I'm a painter, a drummer, a student, and currently unemployed. I also appreciate cats and a bit of light debauchery, but not at the same time or for the same reasons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

