Brief post #3

Sad, since I’ve been working on two real posts (both which, in all likelihood, will linger forever in draft until I banish them for being too out of date).

An observation:

I like video games, at least in a very non-competitive way.  I think as a child I was unfamiliar with and not very good at competitive activities.  I played baseball for a few seasons, and I was no more exited to win than I was to get a hit and make it to first.  I wasn’t raised to be competitive.  I sort of developed a huge apathy for winning things.

But I like video games.  They fascinate me.  I like the moving objects on screen, I like the satisfaction of personal achievement in an arena where there’s no pressure or real consequence.   I don’t necessarily feel the drive to win though… and I view the hardcore uber gaming crowd as a lot of sad, stunted people.  I could be wrong, but there’s such a bloodthirsty need of a lot of players to be the best and have bragging rights, even if no one else gives a shit (and they don’t).

It could be something I just don’t understand, but I don’t think that’s it.  I’ve spent thousands upon thousands of hours playing games, which has benefited me in absolutely zero ways in the real world, by anything that counts.  I haven’t forged relationships, discovered new talents, created anything, bettered myself, or earned capital.  Hell, I used to know every pixel of the first game boy TMNT game; I don’t even remember what it looks like now.

Did I enjoy it?  Nearly every second, and given the chance I doubt I’d play any less.  But I wonder how many of the gaming elite ever think about that?  Are these people lacking something tangible that they need to prove themselves in a fantasy?  Or is there just an amazing level of competitiveness?

I don’t mean to be accusatory, but I’m genuinely curious.  It’s something to chew on for a while, I think.

About ducksarebitches

I'm a painter, a drummer, a student, and currently unemployed. I also appreciate cats and a bit of light debauchery, but not at the same time or for the same reasons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

