Short post of little consequence #2.

I’ve been reading some lists of science fiction novels, and I am again inspired to dig though some.  I never really cared much for sci-fi when I was younger; I stayed more or less in the fantasy camp, although they sometimes meet.  I’m very particular in either genre, though.  I prefer them to be well written stories first, and genre novels second.  I don’t  like cliches, but I do like cliches turned on their heads (which itself has become an overused device, but I’m fine with that).

Originality is a close second, and I need a good writer’s voice or tone.

I have trouble with dystopian sci-fi, because I think the real world stands on shaky ground as it is, and on a slow downward spiral.  And utopian sci-fi, by the same token, bores the shit out of me.  It’s idealistic to the point of distaste.

My standard is I, Robot. I like Phillip K., and Ray Bradbury.  I prefer short stories, and usually avoid any series longer than a trilogy like the plague.  Will I branch out?  Perhaps.  I’ve intended to read Douglas Adams and Terry Pratchett for years, but it may have to wait until someone figures out how to construct more hours into a day.

About ducksarebitches

I'm a painter, a drummer, a student, and currently unemployed. I also appreciate cats and a bit of light debauchery, but not at the same time or for the same reasons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

