It is time for awesome covers again!

A week ago we opened for The Rough Customers at Buster’s.  It was a fill-in- the original opener had to cancel, but we had a couple weeks notice.  I was figuring on a disappointing crowd anyway, and I was later than expected (in other words, got lost again ><) to load the drums…but I got there and Ben asked if I knew any guitar players.

Ominous!  Turns out our lead guitar player’s lady got cut pretty good on a picture frame, and thus hospitals ensued.  We wound up calling our lead player from the old Weezer band (well, old as in a year ago) who never really got back to us.  We also called Rob, of the high school-legendary Fuzzwood, who made it with gear and jitters.

Long story short, he filled spectacularly.  We played great.  The crowd was great.  The Rough Customers were awesome.  It was a exceptional night.

A couple of days later I got an email from Ben asking if I was interested in covering Weezer again, with Rob on guitar.  Since I’ve got plenty of evenings free for the summer, and since I fucking love playing Weezer songs, and since people loved it (and proved that love by giving us money in exchange for noise) I said I was totally in.

We had the first practice tonight, as such: Tired of Sex, Getchoo, In the Garage, El Scorcho, Jonas, Undone, and Say It Ain’t So.*  It went well.

11 Years at Harvard returns!

*In case you’re unfamiliar: we will absolutely not be covering anything from Raditude, and unless someone gives us extra money or perhaps a cake we won’t be playing anything after Maladroit…..because it’s shit.  Could be some solo-Rivers and maybe some Rentals.

About ducksarebitches

I'm a painter, a drummer, a student, and currently unemployed. I also appreciate cats and a bit of light debauchery, but not at the same time or for the same reasons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

