Memorial Duh

It’s Memorial Day.  Decoration Day for you old people.  It’s going to rain most of the day, and I’m doing the same thing I’ve done for the past week: fuck around on the internet and watch a shit ton of Lost later on with the lady.  Partly because she hasn’t ever watched it, and partly because I haven’t seen the first few seasons in a couple of years.

We went for a walk on Saturday night and there were fucking street parties, I swear.  People hanging out on the sidewalks and cars parked in the street.  You could smell pot everywhere.  None of it looked very appealing, sadly.  Everyone looked like cheap hookers or sketchier characters, there was an entire apartment building vibrating from the bass in someone’s kitchen, and I expected to be surrounded by cops any second.  So we wandered to campus and back, laughed at the drunk sorority twats, and avoided the hookers.  I’m relating this only because this shit does not happen on my block.  Especially in the summer, when most of the college is gone.  There are small parties, but this was fucking huge and unusual.

I hardly know anyone in this neighborhood.  I recognize about four people in my building and the next that I see coming or going all the time, but that’s it.  The couple across the hall moved out last week, and that’s the first time I’ve ever physically seen them both.  But that’s the nature of being so close to campus, I suppose.  Nobody lives around here very long, or else they live around here forever.  Those tend to be the people you wish would move, though. .

I’m still looking forward to this summer class.  Mom suggested it’ll be watercolor, since we’re doing landscapes somewhere outside and acrylic doesn’t dry fast enough to haul around (although if you give it a half-hour it’s dry enough to transport).  I just hope it’s not fucking muggy the whole summer.  Frankly I’d just like to know when I’m supposed to pay for it.  I’m suspicious that UK has sent a bill, and said bill (like most of my non-junk mail) has been lost.

About ducksarebitches

I'm a painter, a drummer, a student, and currently unemployed. I also appreciate cats and a bit of light debauchery, but not at the same time or for the same reasons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

